What different types of angels does the Bible talk about?

Several angels are mentioned in the Bible. These angels fall into two basic categories, those who serve God and fallen angels (also known as demons). Among those angels who serve God, there are some specific types of angels mentioned in Scripture.

Seraphim (singular "seraph") are angels mentioned only in Isaiah 6. They are shown as serving in the presence of God and have six wings: "Each had six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew" (v. 2).

Cherubim (singular "cherub"; also seen in plural form as "cherubs") are an interesting class of angels associated with the glory of God. They were depicted on the lid or top of the Ark of the Covenant and other aspects of the tabernacle and temple. In Genesis 3:24, cherubim guarded the Garden of Eden with a flaming sword. In Ezekiel 1 and 10, a visionary description is given of cherubim that include multiple faces, hands like a human, and wings.

Archangel is mentioned in 1 Thessalonians 4:16 and in Jude 1:9 (in reference to Michael). Michael appears to be a warrior (Daniel 10:13-21; 12:1; Revelation 12:7). Gabriel is the other angel mentioned by name in the Bible (Daniel 8 and 9 in the Old Testament) and is a lead angel who seems to take messages from God to humans. For example, Gabriel is the same angel who appeared to Zechariah (Luke 1:19) and to Mary (Luke 1:26).

Other possible categories of angels include those mentioned in Ephesians 6:12: "For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places." While this verse refers to spiritual forces of evil, the categories it contains might also relate to categories of God's holy angels as well, though this is uncertain.

In addition, some have attempted to categorize the angels who appear to humans on earth. In each case, the angels appeared in human form (such as in Genesis 18). Other than Michael and Gabriel, names for angels are not given in Scripture (unless Satan is included). Holy angels serve a variety of duties, including relaying messages, performing miracles, facilitating judgment, and ministering to God's people.

Fallen angels, or demons, are another category of angels. They include Satan (or the devil) who is the chief leader of fallen angels. Some demons are currently bound in judgment (2 Peter 2:4; Jude 1:6), while others operate in the world today. All will one day be judged by God and sent into the lake of fire for eternity (Revelation 20:10).

In contrast, God's holy angels will dwell with Him forever. All of God's people will dwell with the Lord and His holy angels in eternity future.

Related Truth:

What are angels according to the Bible?

What are archangels? Is there more than one archangel?

What are the seraphim in the Bible?

What are cherubim in the Bible? Are cherubs angels?

Are demons and fallen angels the same thing?

Return to:
Truth about Angels

Subscribe to the CompellingTruth.org Newsletter:

Preferred Bible Version:

CompellingTruth.org is a ministry of